Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Shaping the body template

11 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

I've been watching through all the videos as I gear up on tools. It looks so easy when the body is shaped with a router using the body pattern. But my question is, how do you get a body pattern that is perfectly curved and smooth?  

I am taking a beginner woodworking class and we cut out a shape using the band saw.  I tried to think of a curvy shape so I could practice what I would use in guitar making, hence the moustache. I am having a hard time "cleaning it up" to get perfect curves. (see attached pic)  I've been using rasps and files and sand paper but there are still a lot of imperfections.  Is this just a practice thing?  Should I just expect to try to make several guitar body patterns before I end up with a keeper? What tools do you use to "clean up" after a bandsaw and get perfect curves on your body pattern?

IMG 5475

6 Answers

Hi pdx,

I'm new to all this as well but from what I've been learning so far I would say that unless you have a spindle sander the best way to do it is by hand using sandpaper and sanding blocks. A flat block for the bigger curves and something like an old broom handle rapped in sandpaper for the tighter curves. Use fine grade sandpaper for the final touches down to your pencil line. I'm sure some of the more experienced guys will be around shortly with some good advice too. 

Cheers,

Russ

😀 👍 

🗝️ "Life's what you make it"🗝️

Anonymous Topic starter 21/10/2020 6:49 pm

@russ
great thanks for the advice!

Nice Moustache. 😉 😋 👍 

🗝️ "Life's what you make it"🗝️

Anonymous Topic starter 21/10/2020 6:50 pm

@russ
ha thanks. gotta start somewhere right! Might as well start proper with a stache. Like I said I wanted something curvy that would be good practice on the band saw. Those ends made me nervous.

I think the main tool is “time”.