84 Likes
cardiffborn
(@jonathan-auckland)
Estimable Member
Adept
Rep Points: 225
Topic starter  

Hi

I'm a newbie to this new site and I'm also new to the making of guitars.

This course was a birthday gift from my wife and it's been a brilliant present. Mark says you need a bandsaw, so I now have a bandsaw. Mark says you need a few essential tools, so I have "a few" new essential tools. Mark says you need to look after your wood, so the back shed has a carpet and is no longer freezing. Mark's a good friend to have.

At the moment I'm busy making the bits you need to make and buying the things I think I might need, and the things Mark says I need.

I don't live in Cardiff now, but that's a long story. However, when I'm gone .....

all the best to everyone

Jonathan

mattbeels, tv1, Deej and 9 people reacted
Carnivorous HERBivore
(@herb)
Reputable Member
Semi Professional
Rep Points: 395

Hi Jonathan - welcome! Beware... this is adictive... hope it goes well and you have a blast!

cheers, Herb

mattbeels, tv1, cardiffborn and 7 people reacted
ReplyQuote
cardiffborn
(@jonathan-auckland)
Estimable Member
Adept
Topic starter  

Hi Herb

thanks for the welcome, and the warning. It's Saturday and time for a bacon sarnie soon. Does life get any better than that?

J

mattbeels, tv1, mark bailey and 5 people reacted
ReplyQuote
mark bailey
(@markbailey)
Admin
Guitar Making God

Glad to have you Jonathan!

Happy hunting -Let me know if you get stuck finding anything.

Remember you don't need to go mad and buy whole sets of things! (most people do...)

Better to buy one quality chisel than a set of duffers 🙂

Good luck with your first build!

Measure twice, cut once...

mattbeels, cardiffborn, Boo and 3 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Boo
 Boo
(@boo)
Illustrious Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 34842

Welcome Jonathan, I really hope you enjoy building your first guitar here with Mark.

Are you building an electric or acoustic? 

Herb is right with his warning, it is addictive. Haha......