4 Users
38 Likes
jamesbisset
(@jamesbisset)
Noble Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 1440
Topic starter  

I’ve measured up a few P90s and covers. I’m guessing they’ll be imperial measurements (because America) and the corner radii look like 1/4" or 3/16". 

Bare Knuckle use 1/4". Tonerider use 3/16".

Even DiMarzio have varied the shape depending on which P90. My vintage style Soapbar DP167S is 3/16" (current site looks like 1/4") . The modern P90 humbuckers are all 1/4".

IMG 7669

So the big question is: which corner radius is on the Bailey P90 template? And what are the chances of an option in the shop?

I have reasons: I’m planning to use mini-humbuckers on my archtop build - I’ve already bought them, although I’ve never used their like before. Gibson used to fit minis into P90 routs when they had more of one than the other. I could always rout for P90s and fit minis with a mounting ring. And if the minis suck, I don’t need to re-rout.

Jack of all trades and master of my own destiny. It’s only a small destiny.

Russ, Robin, Peebee and 3 people reacted
jamesbisset
(@jamesbisset)
Noble Member
Luthier
Topic starter  

Basically, all P90s are not equal. Some P90s have a bigger corner radius than others.

Russ, Robin, Peebee and 3 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Peebee
(@peebee)
Estimable Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 1416

Interesting, I am planning to use P90’s in my first build. I guess I’ll have to wait until they turn up and measure them, make a template and get hold of the correct router bit.

Give up the news folks, it’s liberating!

Russ, Robin, Russ and 1 people reacted
ReplyQuote
darrenking
(@darrenking)
Famed Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 5112

The internal radius on all corners is 5mm

ReplyQuote
jamesbisset
(@jamesbisset)
Noble Member
Luthier
Topic starter  

Forgive me - I can’t do Imperial.