Going the other way...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Going the other way this time-A Baritone?

24 Posts
6 Users
109 Likes
WolframMalukker
(@wolframmalukker)
Reputable Member Customer
Semi Professional
Rep Points: 369
Topic starter  

Picked up some wood over christmas, but I don't want to cut this one down this time. I've got three tenor uke sized bodies and necks already. (The little jazzmaster-shaped uke only needs me to get the finish to the state I'd like) This time, I'd like to start a Baritone sized guitar, I like the sound and while I can only play one simple song, that's enough for now.

I have a 1-piece black limba body blank, and a 1-piece sapele blank, both 21"x14"x1 15/16" thick. I can get ash, beech, alder, and maple all locally with ease. Mostly, though, I'd like to use a flamed redwood top that I was given for my birthday. It's .33" thick, and 18"x22" It has a nice tight curl and is almost perfectly quartersawn, so the curl runs almost 90* to the grain lines.

What would you use for the body wood? I intend to work around the ADGCEA tuning, i figure if it will tune these pitches then I could also tune it BEADF#B as well. I intend to use a maple neck with ebony fretboard (probably ebony, I have a piece big enough already)

I hear that pickups that are "dark" or "voiced lower" are generally going to be too dark on a baritone, and that I should go with a brighter pickup to keep the sound from being muddy. I've read that Danelectro Lipstick type are a good one, but I don't know anything about that type of pickup. I've also seen them with filtertrons, humbuckers, and single-coil style pickups, so who can really say?

Anyone have some opinions to help me make some decisions?

Boo, Robin, Koendb and 2 people reacted
tv1
 tv1
(@tv101)
Illustrious Member Customer Registered
Luthier
Rep Points: 27896

There's a few aspects to consider - appearance, tone, balance (and probably more).