Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] I'm gonna try and build my lad a bass.....

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Topic starter

Hello folks 

My lad is a million times better musician than me even though I taught him to play the guitar some 14 years ago. I blame YouTube.... if I'd've had the internet when I first strummed along to "the streets of London" when I was 13 I'd be filling stadiums by now and be a Rock God with a sobriety plan and recovering from a serious coke habit on my own private Caribbean island,  but oh no, we had to learn by ear or being shown by mates or gazing at tab books in music shops that we couldn't afford..... which means I'm a crap guitarist. Oh yes, it's so easy for da yoof of today 🙂

But I digress...... 

As a 'well done son for graduating with a degree in music and scoring a job in the music industry during a Pandemic' I thought it would be a great idea to build him a bass!

So here's the rub...... I've only ever built 2 playable guitars before.  Funnily enough both were from Mark's onliners. One electric and my acoustic, "the toad".

He wants a Fender jazz bass (he plays a P bass atm so no pressure there) so one drunken night I said "Yeah mate, I'm sure I could knock you one up......leave it with me...... any cider left?"

So fast forward a few weeks (stay awake at the back) and I'm  assembling the parts. I reckon that if I share it here and it all goes horribly wrong we're all in the frame, but if it goes well then we can all take the credit 🙂

I've scored a beautiful maple neck blank from some geezer in Scotland called Bailey and a nut and chunky bridge. I've bought some j bass plans from which to make me drawing and will worry about other hardware like machine heads, pickups and pots when the time and money comes.