6 Users
198 Likes
Hursty
(@hursty)
Eminent Member
Adept
Rep Points: 188
Topic starter  

Hi guys. I'm just building the headstock angle jig for the bandsman. Excuse me if I'm being super thick here im totally new to all this so be gentle lol.

OK so I'm following Marks video on it but I've come to cut the actual angle so measured 20mm then 300mm then Mark says 67mm....now on a 70mm width side piece that leaves 3mm at the top doesn't it. On the video it looks a lot more. Also Mark then cuts the piece shorter to 12inches as there is excess...I don't get that excess with using the measurements from the video.

Apologies once again if I'm being a total idiot but any help is welcome.

tv1, Rocknroller912, Boo and 11 people reacted
mark bailey
(@markbailey)
Admin
Guitar Making God

Hey Hursty - no problem ...I've been trying to get my head round this... 🙂

I don't think it makes any difference...as long as you follow the measurements I gave the angle should be the same...how much is left at the top depends on how tall the guides are - it doesn't really matter. Maybe mine were a bit taller than specified but that is OK.

Please correct me if I am wrong somebody!

Measure twice, cut once...

tv1, Boo, Hursty and 11 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Hursty
(@hursty)
Eminent Member
Adept
Topic starter  

Hi Mark, brilliant thanks for your help. 😀 yes I stuck to the measurements.

Sorry about being a bit thick 😆 but thought I'd better just ask if I wasn't sure.

Cheers 😀 

tv1, Boo, Koendb and 9 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Tej
 Tej
(@tej)
Famed Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 5385

Please correct me if I am wrong somebody!

I made mine with slightly different dimensions for the rails but cut the angle based on the measurements from the video, worked out fine. Just cut the angle pieces together to ensure they’re matched.

…on an elaborate journey to turn trees into music.

tv1, mattbeels, Boo and 9 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Hursty
(@hursty)
Eminent Member
Adept
Topic starter