7 Users
178 Likes
Jamesonguitar
(@jamesonguitar)
Hobbyist
Rep Points: 56
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I've bitten the bullet and signed up for the fantastic acoustic guitar making course here! I am a complete novice with any sort of woodworking... so this may end up being a little hard than I even imagine.

Anyway, if you want to follow on and give me some tips along the way, the first video is here...

cheers

James

cheesewhisk, mattbeels, mark bailey and 15 people reacted
Robin
(@robin)
Illustrious Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 16819

@jamesonguitar

Welcome to the group, I'll be watching with interest as I intend to build an acoustic at some point, also by following Mark's course.  While I admire you're dedication to sanding, I think I would have waited for the new bandsaw blade and acrylic for your router base.

mattbeels, Russ, Boo and 5 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Jamesonguitar
(@jamesonguitar)
Hobbyist
Topic starter  

Cheers!

yeah, basically by the time i finished, the acrylic arrived… but i learned something: sanding can be fun, for a while with some music on. And buy a hand sander!

mattbeels, Russ, Boo and 7 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Robin
(@robin)
Luthier
Rep Points: 16819

@jamesonguitar

And buy a hand sander!

A hand plane is a very useful tool too, and much .more fun than sanding.

ReplyQuote
Bpower
(@bpower)
Noble Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 3860

Welcome @jamesonguitar. Cool video. I agree with @robin. You have a lot more patience than I do. I would not have made it through that much sanding. :). Great perseverance. I was watching and think.... even a small hand plane would have got you closer to the line and then just finish with the sanding. Much respect for pushing through and getting that done. I'll be following along with your videos. I'm just starting my finishing process on my second acoustic build. Happy building. 🙂 

ReplyQuote
Jamesonguitar
(@jamesonguitar)
Hobbyist
Topic starter