Clear all

Decisions, Decisions

10 Posts
6 Users
2 Likes
Topic starter

Hi All, 

A newbie here. Excited to be here!!

Ive just finished watching Mark's Design and Build Electric courses such a great experience and am pumped to get started. I am now ready to start the design process, but I have decided I want to go against the grain a little bit and build a tele style guitar.

I just need a little advice and any help would be greatly appreciated.
I currently play a Strat which has been modified and has a compound radius 10" -14". I have found a readymade rosewood fingerboard with the same compound radius, however would a compound radius be too hard for a first time builder ?

Also should I stick with the set neck detailed in Mark's course or should I get Mark's bolt on neck course and go with a bolt on neck?

Thanks again everyone

4 Answers

Hi @c-cap. Welcome to the forum of our wonderful community!

My first scratch build was also a telecaster. So go ahead, it is not harder to build.
In my opinion, you should go for a bolt on in that case 🙂
I don't think a compound radius makes a difference in building a guitar.

The only phase where it really matters is in the setup. By then your guitar is already built 😉

C.Cap Topic starter 26/07/2021 12:28 pm

@Koendb Thanks so much for the warm welcome and for taking the time to answer my question!
Perfect, ill move forward in the bolt on direction. Thanks again!

darrenking darrenking 26/07/2021 8:01 pm

Hi @c-cap,
Welcome to the best guitar making forum in the WORLD!!!!
I agree with @koendb in that the tricky bit would have been making the compound radius fretboard in the first place. As this has been done for you it will just be a normal build and the compound element will be taken care of at the set up stage with bridge and nut settings (although the process would be same for a uniformly radiused fret board.
Have fun, ask lots of questions and post lots of pics as you go along. @boo can’t stay up there forever!!
Cheers