8 Users
98 Likes
Denver Lange
(@lizard)
New Member Customer
Rookie
Rep Points: 20
Topic starter  

Its great to be here. I am new to this guitar building thing, but have been playing in a band out here in Utah for around 20+ years. I am actually still playing with two of the first people in the band, who are great players. I feel sorry for all of you that have been on lock down for much of the time this year. We haven't had much of a lock down here and I have played almost 10 gigs since July, with another coming up on the 28th and 29th.

My son 15 year old son got me into this guitar making bit, when he said he wanted to make a Les Paul guitar from a kit that he saw on YouTube. He and I put it all together with stain and oil finish, and I was sure surprised at how good it sounds, although it is far from a masterpiece. We really love playing it.

My son and I are huge Iron Maiden fans, and we play their songs together on a regular basis. So much fun to play songs with great sounding harmonies. He is already good enough to play in the band with us when we do all ages shows.

My dad is who got me interested in playing, as he was in a country and western band for 40 or so years. Soon we are going to put together a family and friends party where we can all play together as a family.

I have been a premium member for a few months now, and just getting everything I need to start a build. I figured I could help Mark and Carol out by signing up as a premium member, when I wasn't really ready to start anything. I feel like they deserve some money for all of the work they have done and, all of the info he is willing to give up for free.

I just put together a body blank and, purchased a bolt on neck blank online.

I have a question about the neck blank. It has about a 2 mm bow from one end to the other. Should it have any bow to it? It also has a small knot about 6 inches from the end and in the middle. It does appear to be planed. Maybe it bowed after it was planed.