Hi there, had a bit...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Hi there, had a bit of a blunder today on my first silicone heat blanket side bending!

6 Posts
4 Users
38 Likes
Anonymous 14274
(@Anonymous 14274)
New Member Guest
Topic starter  

I'm new to the full build game and have spent the last month or so kitting my little workshop/studio out with some basic tools, making jigs and prepping my timber for the build. Bought a silicone heating blanket from china somewhere. It arrived, looked ok and today I attempted doing my first side. I've bent sides before but with a steambox on a repair project and a separate botched build about 10 years ago. I had the sides thickness as between 2 - 2.2 mm on my depth gauge jig.  I assumed the heat blanket controller would actually control the temp and looks identical to others I've seen on youtube; however I don't have an accurate thermometer and ended up using a meat thermometer (would not recommend!)... Anyhow the bending seemed to be going ok until I heard a cracking at around 90% of the centre clamping and what I assumed to be steam but turned out to be smoke. I turned the dial down low and carried on until I had the top and bottom clamped in my jig and off as soon as they were. After about 12 hours I went back and opened it up. It turns out that the heat was far too high and had charred the waist quite badly as well as there being a large crack between the bottom and top bout, on top of this the pink/orange rubbery stuff on the blanket on the caul side has puckered up and now has the consistency of 2 hour old chewing gum. My first question is this: can i still use the blanket or is that a costly right off? and secondly does it matter if my replacement sides are from a new set of mahogany of the same grade? I've already joined the back pretty seamlessly and started on the back strutting so don't want to chuck this. Any help would much appreciated!

mattbeels, Russ, Boo and 5 people reacted
mark bailey
(@markbailey)
Admin