370 Likes
Hursty
(@hursty)
Eminent Member
Adept
Rep Points: 188
Topic starter  

Hi all,

After much pondering I took the plunge and became a premium member and ordered a standard Bandsman kit. 😀Β 

I've no experience of wood working at all so this could be a disaster or a new love.

My first problem is finding a bandsaw. I was thinking of a Record BS250 but they seem out of stock everywhere.

Has anyone any other recommendations?

Cheers, Hursty.

Koendb, mattbeels, Tej and 11 people reacted
Russ
 Russ
(@russ)
Illustrious Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 28644

Hi @hursty

Welcome to the guitar building world. I'm sure you're going to have fun trying. Here is a link to a deal at Yandles for the BS250

https://www.yandles.co.uk/record-power-bs250-premium-10-bandsaw-250w-230v/p8208 Β 

Cheers,

Russ

🙏🎶🎸🙂

πŸ—οΈ "Life's what you make it"πŸ—οΈ

Koendb, mattbeels, Hursty and 11 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Rocknroller912
(@rocknroller912)
Illustrious Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 8383

Use a hand saw if you’re only making one guitar

Some people call me a tool, others are less complimentary. Tools being useful things.

Koendb, mattbeels, Tej and 9 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Boo
 Boo
(@boo)
Illustrious Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 34842

@hursty Hey Hursty, welcome to the forum and congrats on buying your first Bailey Bandsman guitar kit. You will find loads of help here in the forum so whenever you run into problems or concerns, just ask us here. 👍Β 

In answer to your bandsaw question, I agree with @russ about the Record one that is on sale at Yeandles right now. 👍Β 

I’ll come back and talk some more later, I’m just in the middle of metal flaking a Strat body.Β 

Catch you later. 👍Β 

BooΒ 

Make guitars, not war 🌍✌️🎸

ReplyQuote
Hursty
(@hursty)
Eminent Member
Adept
Topic starter  

Cheers Boo 👍Β 

Koendb, mattbeels, Tej and 11 people reacted
ReplyQuote
tv1
 tv1
(@tv101)
Illustrious Member Customer Registered
Luthier
Rep Points: 27896