156 Likes
tyreman
(@tyreman)
Reputable Member
Technician
Rep Points: 516
Topic starter  

hello everyone,

just want to introduce myself and say I am a new guitar builder, currently expanding my knowledge and this place is great, I have plans to make several guitars and find the guitar design course was very useful.

I play all kinds of music and like classical, acoustic steel string and electric guitars and have been a professional musician in the past. I have a stash of some really old brazilian mahogany and do have quite a bit of woodworking experience especially with hand tools so hoping that will help me out. I like to make fine furniture, boxes, cabinets and chest of drawers e.t.c and have sold a few but regard myself as an amatuer because I take a long time making stuff, and can be a bit of a perfectionist, I am sure there are many things I can learn from you all!

I am currently working on designing a 12 string electric which has been challenging but I'm really enjoying it, I will probably make a couple of simpler guitars first and build up the skills needed before making the 12 string.

warm regards,

Ben.

swepri, Esus-Guitars, mattbeels and 15 people reacted
Robin
(@robin)
Illustrious Member Customer
Luthier
Rep Points: 16784

@tyreman

Welcome to the group Ben, with your woodworking experience I think you'll be able to teach us a thing or two. What part of the world are you in.

mattbeels, Tej, Koendb and 11 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Russ
 Russ
(@russ)
Luthier
Rep Points: 28600

@tyreman

Welcome Ben,

I agree with @robin. You're going to be able to teach us some new skills. Enjoy the ride. 

🙂🎶🎸🙏

🗝️ "Life's what you make it"🗝️

mattbeels, Tej, Koendb and 9 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Boo
 Boo
(@boo)
Illustrious Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 34813

Posted by: @tyreman