346 Likes
POCORANCH7
(@poco7)
Reputable Member
Semi Professional
Rep Points: 488
Topic starter  

Well,

for introductions, I'm going to use the handle Pocoranch7, my all time favorite band lads is/was a band called POCO, of which the [founding member] last man standing of the original band-mates, was Rusty Young, whom died a few weeks ago at 75 years - and still jammin'

(check out "Waitin' For The Sun").

POCO was doing Country /Rock when the Eagles were Baby Eaglets! Similar to your very own Long John Baldry, never really getting the recognition deserved, but well known in the music industry; I'm also a huge fan of Winwood's first solo album...never matched...!  That being said, I'm a drummer with legs, hips, and knees with arthritis, but playing guitar since 1970... self taught, just now studying tablature, etc ...mostly playing folk and country/rock and light jazz on drums and guitar...and a lot of Contemporary Christian  Worship music. Most of my time on guitar has been just jamming with others, which is what I love the most...and now getting carpal tunnel in my hands a bit.

However, I  raised a large family as a Land Surveyor - retired - and could never justify spending $3-$5 thousand on a custom guitar - not even $1200, so i bought the best i could and made that work. Now, I want to build my own acoustic guitar after I build a few electrics, as Mark says, "it's a good place to start." I found Mark and Carol's YouTube guitar workshop videos last month and haven't stopped watching, becoming a premium member just recently.

[ I loved the Lockdown Lucy guitar...] And, I figure after I've built around 10 to 100 guitars, I might learn what I'm doing and build myself a nice custom guitar, including a Resonator, for slide work. Love to hear from ya'll, I'm sure I'm not alone; I've enjoyed a few dialogues already with a few of you out there in the forum.