Hi from Portland, Oregon  

Page 1 / 2
  RSS

pdxguitar
(@pdxguitar)
Hobbyist
Rep Points: 60
08/10/2020 6:54 pm  

Hello all, I am brand new to this commmunity and to the idea of building my own guitar. This is a bucket list thing for me. I have zero woodworking skills so it still feels pretty out of reach but I figure getting involved in a community like this with the training videos is my best chance.  It doesn't seem like there are a lot of resources out there that try to take you from no experience to a finished guitar so I am excited to try this out.

I signed up for the free membership and will likely do the paid one soon but was wondering about the "free ebook" as I haven't seen anything about how to access that.

Excited to start this journey, if there is anyone else out there in Oregon hit me up I would love to chat with some local builders.

-Rich

Boo, mark bailey and Deej liked
tv1
 tv1
(@tv101)
Luthier
Rep Points: 5581
08/10/2020 7:11 pm  

Welcome Rich @pdxguitar!

I have zero woodworking skills so it still feels pretty out of reach

That was where I was, 13 years ago.  @markbailey won't remember after all this time, but before I stepped inside his workshop, I couldn't saw a piece of wood in half without something going wrong.  

Getting to the workshop is a bit of a challenge now, especially from where you are!, but the online courses are excellent, and really are a bite-sized, virtually-foolproof, step-by-step series of instructions.  Follow them, and you'll build a guitar.   

The community here is growing rapidly, and there are always people here to help out with any questions you encounter along the way.

🙂

Online guitar making courses – guitarmaking.co.uk

pdxguitar, Boo, mark bailey and 1 people liked
ReplyReplyQuote
pdxguitar
(@pdxguitar)
Hobbyist
08/10/2020 7:49 pm  

@tv101 awesome thanks!

Boo, mark bailey, tv1 and 1 people liked
ReplyReplyQuote
Deej
 Deej
(@deej)
Luthier
Rep Points: 3536
09/10/2020 12:46 am  

Hi and welcome @pdxguitar