Hi from Portland, Oregon

19 Posts
11 Users
164 Likes
Anonymous
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest
Topic starter  

Hello all, I am brand new to this commmunity and to the idea of building my own guitar. This is a bucket list thing for me. I have zero woodworking skills so it still feels pretty out of reach but I figure getting involved in a community like this with the training videos is my best chance.  It doesn't seem like there are a lot of resources out there that try to take you from no experience to a finished guitar so I am excited to try this out.

I signed up for the free membership and will likely do the paid one soon but was wondering about the "free ebook" as I haven't seen anything about how to access that.

Excited to start this journey, if there is anyone else out there in Oregon hit me up I would love to chat with some local builders.

-Rich

mattbeels, Boo, mark bailey and 5 people reacted
tv1
 tv1
(@tv101)
Illustrious Member Customer Registered
Luthier
Rep Points: 27896

Welcome Rich @pdxguitar!

I have zero woodworking skills so it still feels pretty out of reach

That was where I was, 13 years ago.  @markbailey won't remember after all this time, but before I stepped inside his workshop, I couldn't saw a piece of wood in half without something going wrong.  

Getting to the workshop is a bit of a challenge now, especially from where you are!, but the online courses are excellent, and really are a bite-sized, virtually-foolproof, step-by-step series of instructions.  Follow them, and you'll build a guitar.   

The community here is growing rapidly, and there are always people here to help out with any questions you encounter along the way.

🙂

Online guitar making courses – guitarmaking.co.uk

mattbeels, Boo, mark bailey and 7 people reacted
ReplyQuote
Anonymous
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest
Topic starter  

@tv101 awesome thanks!

ReplyQuote
Deej
 Deej
(@deej)
Famed Member
Luthier
Rep Points: 10929

Hi and welcome @pdxguitar